Reiki history

Origin of Reiki

Mikao USUI, a Japanese born in a samurais’ family in the XIXth century, has developed the Reiki energy technique.

When he was very young, he used to practise Kiko (Chi-Kung) whose exercises allow to feel the circulation of energy and to open the meridians.

Sensitive to the use of energies, he healed people with this energy before he noticed that some difficult cases sucked out his own energy. He thus decided to stop the care and continued to study the martial arts. These allowed him to perfect his knowledge on the use of energy (Ki).

Besides the Shintoist and Buddhist teachings, he nurtured his spirituality and his internal development with Shugendo, the spiritual practice of ascetics living in mountains.

During a 3-week Buddhist meditation on the Kurama mountain, well-known for its energetic qualities, Mikao Usui lived a spiritual awakening (“satori” in Japanese). He came down the mountain, conscious that the energy which passed in his hands was different from the one he had used; this energy, which he defined as a “universal energy of life that has its own consciousness“, could not be manipulated and had highly beneficial effects for everything.

Thus he created an organization to initiate people for therapeutic purpose. Some of these people passed Reiki Masters to pursue his teaching. Among these, Mister Chujiro Hayashi, officer in the Imperial Navy, introduced Madam Hawayo Takata who “exported” Reiki in Hawaii.

Naissance du Reiki

Naissance du Reiki

Mikao USUI, un Japonais du XIXème siècle né dans une famille de Samouraïs, a mis au point la technique énergétique du Reiki.

Très jeune, il pratique le Kiko (Chi-Kung) dont les exercices permettent de ressentir la circulation de l’énergie et de débloquer les méridiens.

Sensible à l’utilisation des énergies, il traite des personnes avec cette énergie avant de s’apercevoir que certains cas difficiles le vident de sa propre énergie. Il décide donc d’arrêter les soins et continue à étudier les arts martiaux, grâce auxquels il perfectionne ses connaissances de l’utilisation de l’énergie (Ki).

En plus des enseignements shintoïste et bouddhiste, il développe sa spiritualité et son développement intérieur avec le Shugendo, pratique spirituelle des ascètes vivant dans les montagnes.

Lors d’une méditation bouddhiste de 3 semaines sur la montagne Kurama réputée pour ses qualités énergétiques, Mikao Usui vit un éveil spirituel (« satori » en japonais). Il redescend de la montagne, conscient que l’énergie qui passe dans ses mains est différente de celle qu’il utilisait ; cette énergie, qu’il définit comme une « énergie universelle de vie qui a une conscience propre », ne peut pas être manipulée et a des effets hautement bénéfiques pour tous.

Il fonde alors une organisation pour initier des personnes dans un but thérapeutique. Certaines de ces personnes ont passé la Maîtrise pour poursuivre son enseignement. Parmi ces personnes, M. Chujiro Hayashi, officier dans la Marine Impériale, a initié Madame Hawayo Takata qui a « exporté » le Reiki à Hawaï.